嘉兴岛

嘉兴, 中国 – 2016

以挑战中国传统城市化概念为缘起,两家位于上海的欧洲建筑事务所——MORE和AIM携手打造了“嘉兴岛”综合体项目。这座以公共区域为核心的都市综合体真正实现了以人为本的设计愿景。

嘉兴市拥有近一百万居民,位于快速城市化的上海和杭州之间。过去十年间,“嘉兴岛”项目所在的郊野已经逐渐被工业区和住宅区填满,激进的变化使得城市规模在短短十年间发生了从S到XL的剧烈膨胀。

嘉兴岛综合体具有宜人的尺度,在强调公共空间的同时满足了综合功能对环境的要求,对无处不在的开发和扩张所带来的问题提供了一种解决方案。该项目将八块体量糅合进一座整体结构,容纳了多重功能和体验。

建筑包含了非常多的功能:办公、酒店、画廊、餐厅、幼儿园、体育设施,这些功能围绕中心的广场分布,集合成为一座城市村庄。

广场是这座村庄的心脏,包含了诸多开放式的公共设施:餐厅、画廊、幼儿园和商铺。通过宽敞的楼梯,人们可以从广场进入地下层的会议中心,会议中心也可以作为露天的礼堂。机动车无法进入广场,从而为在这里聚会活动的人们提供了安全的公共环境。

通过与二层空间相连,建筑内的各种功能实现了最大程度上的衔接与互动。步行桥完善了整体的动线,人们能够充分体验到各种各样的功能和活动:花园、当代艺术画廊、酒店、办公、就餐的人和游泳的人……

多元而富有层次的建筑形式也是项目的一大亮点。立面采用西班牙砂岩,随着空间的不断深入而发生丰富的层次变化。不同体块内的间隙和中庭也制造出变化的视角,为视觉体验带来更多的趣味。

巨大的规模、南北朝向、机动车为主的车道、表达权利的广场……针对这一系列典型的中国城市特色,嘉兴岛的落成无疑挑战了中国城市的一系列典型问题:巨大的规模,南北方向,汽车主导的街道,代表着权利的广场……通过在项目中强调公共空间的核心地位,嘉兴岛最终满足的是人的需求和体验。

业主: Jiaxing Huazhang Reals Estate Ltd.
面积: 16 000 平方米
功能: 办公、酒店、公寓、画廊、4间餐厅、泳池、健身房、幼儿园、会议中心等
竣工日期: 2016
设计范围: 建筑设计、室内设计、景观设计
设计团队:
MORE超越建筑设计事务所 : Daan Roggeveen, Robert Chen, Jaime Fernández Rosa, Adrián Briega Muñoz, Xue Guangjie, Emilio Wang, Cherie Cheung, Stephen Kwok, Ma Yuanrong, Wang Bizhou
AIM恺慕建筑设计事务所: Vincent de Graaf, Wendy Saunders, Alejandro Felipe, Jane Ji, Dong Ker, Mavis Li, Jiao Yan, Zhou Min, Fredrik Garpenfelt, Allan Yin
Engineering: CSCEC/Zhang Ye and Tian Le
摄影: Dirk Weiblen

Jiaxing Island

Jiaxing Island

Jiaxing, China – 2016

Jiaxing Island, a mixed use building designed by Shanghai-based Dutch architecture firms MORE Architecture and AIM Architecture, challenges the traditional notions of urbanization in China. By literally placing public space in the center of their project, the architects created a truly people-oriented architecture.

On the fringe of quickly urbanizing Jiaxing, a 1 million inhabitant city between Shanghai and Hangzhou, this complex finds itself in a ferociously dynamic context – where the countryside has been replaced by industrial zones and residential compounds in less than a decade. This radical transformation has had an immense impact of the scale of the urban fabric: from S to XL in less in ten years’ time.

Jiaxing Island is an antidote and alternative to these ubiquitous developments, by creating a human scale, mixed use environment with an emphasis on public space. The building complex consists of eight volumes merged into one building, offering a myriad of programs, uses, experiences…

The use of the building is extremely diverse – office, hotel, gallery, restaurants, kindergarten, sports – and these are divided over different buildings surrounding a central square, creating an urban village.

The square forms the heart of this village, with its public facilities – restaurants, gallery, kindergarten, shop – opening to it. The generous stairs which connect the square to an underground conference center that can be used as an open air auditorium. Since the square is car free, it is a great place for children to play.

The building mixes functions as much as possible by interconnecting the volumes on the second floor. Walking through this bridge one passes through a multitude of programs and activities: a flower garden, a contemporary art gallery, a hotel, an office, people having dinner, people swimming…

The architecture of the building is diverse and multi layered. The façade, made of Spanish sandstone, is closed in the alleys leading to the square, but rich and varied on the square and towards its surroundings. The voids and atriums in every volume create variations in views and perspectives.

Jiaxing Island challenges a couple of classic urban notions in China: the enormous scale, the north-south orientation, the car-dominated streets, the square as an expression of power. And by literally placing the public space at the heart of the project, the building ultimately mixes people…

Client: Jiaxing Huazhang Reals Estate Ltd.
Size: 16 000 sqm
Program: mixed use of offices, hotel, short stay apartments, gallery, 4 restaurants, pool, gym, kindergarten, conference center
Completion: 2016
Design scope: architecture, interior, landscape
Design Team:
MORE Architecture: Daan Roggeveen, Robert Chen, Jaime Fernández Rosa, Adrián Briega Muñoz, Xue Guangjie, Emilio Wang, Cherie Cheung, Stephen Kwok, Ma Yuanrong, Wang Bizhou
AIM Architecture: Vincent de Graaf, Wendy Saunders, Alejandro Felipe, Jane Ji, Dong Ker, Mavis Li, Jiao Yan, Zhou Min, Fredrik Garpenfelt, Allan Yin
Engineering: CSCEC/Zhang Ye and Tian Le
Photography: Dirk Weiblen